16th Jun 2019

Scotland u/19 Change Four for Aussies


Scotland U19 have named their side to play Australian Schools this Sunday at Oriam, Edinburgh 

The game will give players an opportunity to put their hands up for selection for the Scotland U20 squad – who will convene in camp in January ahead of the U20 Six Nations championship.

Following a training match against Wales U19 last week, Scotland U19 Head Coach Ben Cairns has opted for a fairly settled squad ahead of the game.

Of the 23-man squad selected for the encounter, eight are FOSROC Scottish Rugby Academy supported players.

Cairns said: “While the squad remains largely unchanged from that which took to the field in our training match versus Wales U19 last Sunday, it was always our intention to mix the squad up a bit to give a good group of players exposure to international rugby.

“Kieran Watt, James Timony, Cameron Brown and Chris Bell come into the squad and I’m sure they will be looking forward to their first involvement at this level.

“It's great to have the Australian Schools fixture this year. The U19 programme is all about developing our players at the international level and this fixture provides a unique opportunity to test ourselves against a quality Southern Hemisphere side.

“They’ve had a successful tour so far with a winning record in Ireland and we are really looking forward to the challenge they will provide.

“Finally, playing the match indoors at Oriam certainly adds to the occasion and we are hopeful there will be a good crowd who come along to support both sides."

Scotland U19 team to play Australian Schools at Oriam today.

15. Oli Smith* (Ayr), 14. Jack Blain* (Heriot’s), 13. Andrew Mitchell (Hawick), 12. Robbie McCallum (Complutense Cisneros), 11. Charlie Hudson (Loughborough University), 10. Nathan Chamberlain (Hartpury College / Bristol Bears), 9. Roan Frostwick* (Currie Chieftains), 8. Jack Hill (Durham University), 7. Gavin Wilson* (Glasgow Hawks), 6. James Timony (Hartpury College), 5. Cameron Henderson* (Stirling County), 4. Kieran Watt (Watsonians), 3. Alex Pleasants (Henley College / Wasps), 2. Euan Ashman (Sale Sharks), 1. Lachlan Mackay (Stirling County).


16. Rory Jackson* (Edinburgh Academy / Edinburgh Accies), 17. Sean Fisher (Falkirk), 18. Mak Wilson* (Melrose), 19. James Barker (Leeds Beckett University), 20. Cameron Brown (Kelso), 21. Kristin Kay* (Glasgow Hawks), 22. Christopher Bell (Merchiston Castle School / Watsonians), 23. Matt Stewart (Biggar)

error: Content is protected !!