21st Aug 2019

Wales Announce u/20 Six Nations Squad


Wales head coach Gareth Williams has named a 32-man squad for the Six Nations championship which includes 13 players who have already gained experience at U20 level, captain Tommy Reffell among them, while two of the standout performers from last year's Wales U18 squad, Dragons centre Aneurin Owen and Leicester fly-half Sam Costelow, also feature.

"This is the first selection point gearing towards the World Cup when looking at the bigger picture," explained Williams who is in his first campaign as head coach.

"I've been really impressed with the boy's attitude and not just the players who have been successful in making the squad.

"We've also got an injured group of players and a training group, as well as the Six Nations squad and all, have been exemplary. We've had three camps with 60 players and the competitive nature of all ensures no-one can rest on their laurels as competition for places across the board has been intense.

"All of the coaching group, which includes Dai Flanagan [attack], Richard Kelly [forwards] and Andrew Bishop [defence] were mightily impressed by the effort the boys put in and we're all now eagerly waiting to get the campaign underway in France," he added.

Wales U20 squad for Six Nations

Forwards: Tom Devine (Dragons), Rhys Davies (Ospreys), Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets), Nick English (Bristol Bears), Dewi Lake (Ospreys), Cameron Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Will Griffiths (Dragons), Jac Price (Scarlets), Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), Morgan Jones (Scarlets), Ed Scragg (Dragons), Iestyn Rees (Scarlets), Ellis Thomas (Llanelli RFC), Tommy Reffell (Leicester - Capt), Jac Morgan (Aberavon/Scarlets), Taine Basham (Dragons).

Backs: Harri Morgan (Ospreys), Jamie Hill (Cardiff Blues), Dafydd Buckland (Dragons), Cai Evans (Ospreys), Sam Costelow (Leicester), Aneurin Owen (Dragons), Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler (Ospreys), Tom Hoppe (Dragons), Dewi Cross (Ospreys), Deon Smith (Dragons), Caine Woolerton (Ospreys), Rio Dyer (Dragons), Alex Morgan (Gloucester), Tomi Lewis (Scarlets), Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues).

error: Content is protected !!