21st Aug 2019

u/20 Six Nations – France v Wales Preview


Eight Wales players will be making their first appearance in the U20 Six Nations when they take to the field on Sunday.

Leicester Tigers Tommy Reffell captains Wales from No.8 while Dragons trio Tom Hoppe, Aneurin Owen and Deon Smith will be making their debuts in the tournament.

Cardiff Blues full-back Ian Davies gets the nod to make his debut, while Ben Warren, Teddy Williams, Jac Price and Jac Morgan all feature among the forwards.

Gareth Williams’ side is looking for their first age-group title since 2016, having finished fifth last time out – with their victories coming against Scotland and Ireland.

He said: “We’re very excited about our first competitive game of the season, and it doesn’t get much bigger than against the current world champions,” said Williams.

“The occasion will be superb and it will be a true test for us as a group. We have ambitions to emulate them in the coming years, so it will be a good start.”

The defending champions are yet to name their line up for the game on Sunday afternoon, the final piece of action in the U20 Six Nations weekend.

Sébastien Piqueronies has named 34-players in his squad for France’s opening two games with Wales and Scotland, with his XV to take the field at Stade de la Rabine set to be announced imminently.

On their travels in 2018 they took a 24-3 win in Colwyn Bay as Romain Ntamack, who will line-up at inside centre for France against Wales in the Championship opener at Stade de France in the Guinness Six Nations, pulled the strings as Les Bleus secured the title.


Wales U20s

15 Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues), 14 Tomi Lewis (Scarlets), 13 Tom Hoppe (Dragons), 12 Aneurin Owen (Dragons), 11 Deon Smith (Dragons), 10 Cai Evans (Ospreys), 9. Harri Morgan (Ospreys), 8. Taine Basham (Dragons), 7. Tommy Reffell (Leicester - CAPTAIN), 6. Jac Morgan (Aberavon/Scarlets), 5. Jac Price (Scarlets), 4 Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), 3. Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), 2. Dewi Lake (Ospreys), 1. Rhys Davies (Ospreys).

Replacements: 16 Will Griffiths (Dragons) 17 Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets) 18 Nick English (Bristol Bears) 19 Ed Scragg (Dragons) 20 Ellis Thomas (Llanelli) 21 Jamie Hill (Cardiff Blues) 22 Sam Costelow (Leicester) 23 Joe Roberts (Scarlets)

France - Matchday 25

Barka Rayne, Bera Giorgi, Bouzhir Akhim, Burin Alex, Carbonel Louis, De Nardi Alexandre, Del Bouis Julien, Delord Quentin, Dridi Erwan, Eglaine Eli, Geraci Killian, Gros Jean-Baptiste, Hirogoyen Mathieu, Joseph Jordan, Lavault Thomas, Lebel Matthis, Lermardelet Maxence, Moefana Yoram, Pinto Vincent, Sarragalet Mathis, Smaili Mathieu, Vanderberghe Florent, Viallard Kevin, Vincent Arthur (Capt), Zegueur Sacha.

error: Content is protected !!