21st Aug 2019

Scotland u/20 Changes Three for Ireland


Head Coach Carl Hogg has made three changes to the team to face the rampant Ireland team 8 February at Netherdale.

Watsonians and Fosroc Scottish Rugby Academy fullback Rufus McLean is the one change in the back, replacing Ollie Smith. McLean scored a late try off the bench in last Friday's losing test against Italy.

Sale Sharks’ Ewan Ashman at hooker and making his first start at U20 level, while Charlie Jupp shifts to blindside flanker, allowing Stirling County lock, Cameron Henderson, to partner Ewan Johnson in the second-row. Henderson comes into the starting line-up to partner Johnson in the second-row, while No.8 Kwagga van Niekerk moves from 6 to anchors a back-row featuring flankers Connor Boyle – who is once again named as captain – and Jupp who replaces Jack Mann who moves to the bench.

“I see Connor Boyle as an out-and-out seven, and Kwagga gives us that power, and Charlie is probably a modern-day hybrid who can play both second-row and number six, so I think it just gives us a bit more balance in the back-row,” explained Hogg.

Ahead of the fixture, Hogg, said: "I thought we came into the opening game of the Six Nations Championship with a huge amount of energy and enthusiasm.

"The key thing is being able to harness that emotion and passion, along with the process required to deliver a winning performance. We, unfortunately, didn’t achieve that balance and made some simple errors.

"We learned a huge amount from last week. In the first game with any new group, there’s a level of uncertainty about what behaviours and information will be retained in the heat of a match.

"This week we have made great strides in training, both in attack and defence, and this will be put to the test against a very good Irish under-20 team, who come into the match off the back of a victory against England."

Scotland U20 team to face Ireland U20

15. Rufus McLean (Watsonians), 14. Rory McMichael (Heriot’s), 13. Cameron Anderson (Wasps), 12. Robbie McCallum (Complutense Cisneros), 11. Jack Blain (Heriot’s), 10. Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks) VICE-CAPTAIN, 9. Roan Frostwick (Currie Chieftains), 8. Kwagga Van Niekerk (Lions), 7. Connor Boyle (Watsonians) CAPTAIN, 6. Charlie Jupp (Heriot’s), 5. Ewan Johnson (Racing 92), 4. Cameron Henderson (Stirling County), 3. Murphy Walker (Stirling County), 2. Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks), 1. Sam Grahamslaw (Leicester Tigers).

Substitutes: 16. Angus Fraser (Glasgow Hawks), 17. Andrew Nimmo (Glasgow Hawks), 18. Euan McLaren (Ayr), 19. Ross Bundy (Stirling County), 20. Jack Mann (Edinburgh Accies), 21. Kyle McGhie (Musselburgh), 22. Nathan Chamberlain (Bristol Bears), 23. Matt Davidson (London Scottish)


error: Content is protected !!