21st Aug 2019

u/20 Six Nations – Wales Change Three For Italy


Wales u/20 was forced to make three changes for their upcoming match against Italy on Sunday. Captain Tommy Reffell and Tom Hoppe are injured while second row Jac Price must sit this one out after being suspended after a dangerous tackle against France.

Cardiff Blues centre Max Llewellyn replaces Hoppe while in the forwards Ed Scragg is promoted from the bench to replace Price while Dragons flanker Lennon Greggains comes in for Reffell.

In Reffell's absence, hooker Dewi Lake takes over the captaincy.

"We've been keen to keep an element of consistency to our squad, but some changes have been forced upon us with Tommy Reffel's injury and Jac Price's suspension," said Williams.

"It was a great measure of where we are last week against the world champions, and the challenge for us this week is to replicate the intensity we mustered for 60 minutes against France.  There are certain scenarios we need to control more effectively, and Italy will be a confident group following an excellent performance and result against Scotland.

"We remember our loss last year at home and know the challenges keep coming in this Six Nations. It is our ambition to keep improving our processes. There were aspects we were very happy with on the weekend, and certain areas we need to increase our efficiency.

"Dewi Lake will be an excellent captain in what will be his first outing with this honour. He and fly-half Cai Evans have acted as key leaders in our early preparation and for the first game against France."

Wales U20:

15 Ioan Davies (Cardiff Blues), 14 Tomi Lewis (Scarlets), 13 Max Llewellyn (Cardiff Blues), 12 Aneurin Owen (Dragons), 11 Deon Smith (Dragons), 10 Cai Evans (Ospreys), 9. Jamie Hill (Cardiff Blues), 1. Rhys Davies (Ospreys)
2. Dewi Lake (Ospreys - CAPT), 3. Ben Warren (Cardiff Blues), 4 Ed Scragg (Dragons), 5. Teddy Williams (Cardiff Blues), 6. Lennon Greggains (Dragons), 7. Jac Morgan (Aberavon/Scarlets), 8. Taine Basham (Dragons)


16 Will Griffiths (Dragons) 17 Tom Devine (Dragons) 18 Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets) 19 Iestyn Rees (Scarlets) 20 Ellis Thomas (Llanelli) 21 Dafydd Buckland (Dragons) 22 Sam Costelow (Leicester) 23 Joe Roberts (Scarlets)

error: Content is protected !!